Return to Human Space Flight home page

Expedition Five: Home | EVA | Timelines | Experiments | Taxi Crew

Expedition Five Spacewalks

The Expedition Five crewmembers conducted two spacewalks during their stay at the International Space Station. Both were based out of the Pirs Docking Compartment.

Learn more about the spacewalks required to build the International Space Station.

EVA Cosmonauts and Astronauts and Suit ID
Valery Korzun (EV1): blue stripes (Spacewalks 1 and 2)
Peggy Whitson (EV2): red stripes (Spacewalk 1)
Sergei Treschev (EV2): red stripes (Spacewalk 2)

Spacewalk 1
Valery Korzun, Peggy Whitson
Actual time: 4 hours, 25 minutes
Actual start time: 4:23 a.m. CDT (0923 GMT) Aug. 16, 2002
Actual end time: 8:48 a.m. CDT (1348 GMT) Aug. 16, 2002

Korzun and Whitson installed six debris panels onto the Zvezda Service Module. They removed the panels from their temporary location on the station's Pressurized Mating Adapter 1 prior to attachment to Zvezda. The panels are designed to shield Zvezda from potential space debris impacts. A total of 23 shields will eventually be installed onto the Service Module.

Korzun and Whitson were scheduled to install new hardware on the Russian Kromka experiment, but due to the late start of the spacewalk, Russian flight controllers decided to move the task to a future extravehicular activity. Kromka measures residue emissions from Zvezda's jet thrusters.

This was the 42nd station spacewalk and the 17th based from the orbital outpost.

Check out the animations depicting Expedition Five's first spacewalk.

Spacewalk 2
Valery Korzun, Sergei Treschev
Actual time: 5 hours, 21 minutes
Actual start time: 12:27 a.m. CDT (0527 GMT) Aug. 26, 2002
Actual end time: 5:48 a.m. CDT (1048 GMT) Aug. 26, 2002

During Expedition Five's second spacewalk, Korzun and Treschev installed a frame on the outside of the Zarya Module to house components for future spacewalk assembly tasks. They installed new material samples on a pair of Japanese Space Agency materials exposure experiments housed on the outside of Zvezda. Korzun and Treschev also installed devices on Zvezda that will simplify the routing of tethers during future assembly spacewalks. They improved future station amateur radio operations by adding two ham radio antennas on Zvezda.

Also, Korzun and Treschev installed the Kromka hardware that was originally slated to take place during Expedition Five's first spacewalk. Kromka measures residue emissions from Zvezda's jet thrusters.

This was the 43rd station spacewalk and the 18th based from the orbital outpost.

EVA Details
Related Links
*Expedition Five Press Kit (2.2 Mb PDF)
*Zvezda Service Module
*Amateur Radio Relay League News Release

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 10/28/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices