Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-113: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA
STS-113 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-113 crew will perform three spacewalks while at the International Space Station. The main focus of these extravehicular activities, or EVAs, is the installation, outfitting and activation of the P1 (P-One) Truss. All three spacewalks will be based out of the station's Quest Airlock.

EVA Astronauts and Suit ID
Michael Lopez-Alegria (EV1): solid red stripes
John Herrington (EV2): solid white spacesuit

Space Station Robot Arm Operators
Peggy Whitson
Ken Bowersox
Don Pettit

Space Shuttle Robot Arm Operator
Jim Wetherbee

Spacewalk Coordinator
Paul Lockhart

EVA 1
Lopez-Alegria, Herrington
Time: 6 hours, 45 minutes
Start Time: 1:49 p.m. CST (1949 GMT) Nov. 26, 2002
End Time (approximate): 8:35 p.m. CST Nov. 26, 2002 (0235 GMT Nov. 27, 2002)

After the P1 was attached to the station, Lopez-Alegria and Herrington exited the station Quest Airlock. Lopez-Alegria began making connections between the P1 and the S0 (S-Zero) Truss as Herrington released launch restraints on the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid, or CETA, cart. Lopez-Alegria then installed Spool Positioning Devices, or SPDs, onto the station. Both spacewalkers removed a drag link on the P1 that served as a launch restraint. The final major task scheduled during the spacewalk was the installation of a Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly, which will be used to support spacewalkers' helmet cameras, onto the Unity Node.

EVA 2
Lopez-Alegria, Herrington
Time: 6 hours, 10 minutes
Start Time: 12:36 p.m. CST (1836 GMT) Nov. 28, 2002
End Time: 6:46 p.m. CST Nov. 28, 2002 (0046 GMT Nov. 29, 2002)

The first major task scheduled for STS-113's Thanksgiving spacewalk was the installation of the fluid jumpers where the S0 and the P1 are attached to each other. The jumpers were installed by both spacewalkers. The next task was the removal of the P1's starboard keel pin. Before removing the port keel pin, Lopez-Alegria and Herrington installed another Wireless video system External Transceiver Assembly onto the P1. The final major task of the spacewalk was the relocation of the CETA cart from the P1 to the S1 Truss, which will allow the Mobile Transporter to move along the P1 to assist in upcoming assembly mission.

EVA 3
Lopez-Alegria, Herrington
Time: 7 hours
Start Time: 1:25 p.m. CST (1925 GMT) Nov. 30, 2002
End Time: 8:25 p.m. CST Nov. 30, 2002 (0225 GMT Dec. 1, 2002)

Throughout the spacewalk, Herrington and Lopez-Alegria installed more SPDs, which brings the total to more than 40 installed during the mission's three excursions. Also, Lopez-Alegria reconfigured electrical harnesses that route power through the Main Bus Switching Units, and Herrington attached Ammonia Tank Assembly lines.

STS-113 Spacewalks
IMAGE: STS-113 Mission Specialist John Herrington
STS-113 Mission Specialist John B. Herrington moves into the International Space Station's Quest Airlock before the mission's first spacewalk.
Related Links
*Integrated Truss Structure
*Wardrobe for Space
*Spacewalking at the ISS
*EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 12/10/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices